About the Gerald Averay Wainwright Fund

'Congregation at Oxford will be asked on Tuesday next to accept a gift of £4,000 from an anonymous benefactor who wishes to encourage the study by schoolboys and by more mature students of non-classical archaeology and general history, as deduced from comparative archaeology, of the countries of the Near East.'

The Times, May 7th 1952

G A WainwrightThe original gift from the Egyptologist and archaeologist Gerald Averay Wainwright (1879-1964, pictured right) was generously augmented in the donor's will. Now, in addition to G.A. Wainwright's original annual "schoolboys" Essay Prize (now worth £250 and open to both sexes), the Fund also awards Research Grants to mature scholars and sponsors a Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship.

The Board of Management for the Fund meets twice yearly in May and November. The Board decides upon the recipients of Research Grants and Fellowships and contacts each applicant shortly after the meeting. 

The Board of Management currently consists of the following:

  • Dr Paul Collins - Ashmolean Museum (Chair)
  • Mr Liam McNamara - Ashmolean Museum
  • Dr Dan Hicks - Pitt Rivers Museum
  • Dr Elizabeth Frood - Oriental Institute
  • Professor Douglas Baird - Liverpool University
  • Dr Wendy Matthews - Reading University
  • Dr Magnus Widell - Liverpool University
  • Dr Yagmur Heffron - University College London